top of page
Search
  • Blogs

Final Major project; Re-purposing challenging themes

I began my Final major project by firstly taking myself to Milan where I found lots of inspiration in the architecture and in the Italian sculptures and the many Museums that I had visited. I was before hand inspired by a print by the brand Munthe Copenhagen from their SS/20 collection which had very expressive scribble faces there was something about the design that appealed to me so I began finding faces for inspiration.


I found the print inspiring because it was completely different to my styles of drawing and I wanted to have the opportunity to explore different styles of drawing and to have fun with drawing expanding my mediums by using paints, chalks and oil pastels to get that expressive look that I was looking for this was a continuation on from the Idott project. This carrying on from the influence from the last project where I began exploring many mediums.








These sculptures inspired me in creating imagery for conversational prints and placements some of these were found in Milan and some at home in the Glynn Vivian in Swansea.


The designer OFF White inspired me in their SS/20 collection where a few of their prints had this sprayed paint and mascots on them which I thought was really effective and in line with that expressive trend that I have been looking at.


A coordinate that I had put together digitally through using different brushes on Photoshop. I wasn't apposed to using Photoshop on this project but I felt I needed to using physical mediums and actually explore other ways of creating. I wanted to make the project fun which was as a response to what had been going on in the world where everything can seem overwhelmingly serious at times.




Here's some of the drawings that went into some of my hero designs. I was making textures and marks so as to be used as accompanying motifs alongside the main motifs. I later turned this into a toss repeat which was successful.




Henri Mattise 'Lydia Delectorskaya 1947' and my print of a cows head. As you can see the print is heavily inspired by Mattise's painting.

I very much like this painting as it is so modern a contemporary and I think the inspiration worked well for my mediums too. This print later became part of my logo.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page